Skip to main content

District Boundaries

Illustrative map of the jurisdictional boundaries of the Antelope Valley Air Quality Management District.

The Antelope Valley Air Quality Management District (AVAQMD) is primarily responsible for regulating stationary sources of air pollution in the northern desert portion of Los Angeles County. The District’s boundaries start on the south just outside of Acton, north to the Kern County line, east to the San Bernardino County line, and west to the Quail Lake area. The District is one of 35 in California. Stretched out over approximately 1,300 square miles, AVAQMD’s jurisdiction comprises nearly two dozen communities including two municipalities, Lancaster and Palmdale, and is within Los Angeles County’s 5th Supervisorial District. The Air Monitoring staff operates a federally regulated monitoring station in Lancaster. The District has also authorized low-cost air sensors in various locations throughout its jurisdiction.

AVAQMD’s cities and communities

Acton (partial)

Antelope Acres

Del Sur


Green Valley

Hi Vista

Juniper Hills

Lake Hughes

Lake Los Angeles


Leona Valley






Quartz Hill


Sun Village


Wilsona Gardens

Click here to downoad a Google Earth file version of this map. (Downloads as a separate file)

This map and associated files are provided for information purposes only. For an official determination of location for air quality purposes please contact AVAQMD.